Science bits

5 January, 2006

A dream job got posted today. I got so sick of seeing dream jobs pass me by in grad school, and here I am a postdoc and they’re STILL passing me by. Garr! This one was closer than usual to my ur-job, perhaps the closest yet…

In lab meeting yesterday we were pondering our involvement in a unipolar depression project that’s been fruitful to date (you may have seen the article about it on the front page of the WP on New Year’s Day). Maybe we should do more with that project, was the direction of the conversation. “But we’re about bipolar disorder”, my PI objected. “Bipolar disorder is what we do.” A pause, then he said “it’d also be nice to have some successes.”

Leave a Reply

