Miscellania

11 January, 2006

55 today?! 65 Friday??! I would get excited, if I didn’t know I’d be paying for it in the summertime. Also, if the 55 didn’t come with crappy rainy crap, and the 65 with probable thunderstorms. I wish it were true that living in warm climes “thins your blood” and makes you more used to warm weather.

Yesterday morning I thought, “If I take one more picture of the Woodley Park metro station I think I’m going to gouge my eyes out with my Compact Flash card.” Then I caught a different bus and took a bunch of pictures of the Dupont station. I may need a break, but every time I think that (every three or four days, for weeks now) something interesting happens. Yesterday for example: I had to go to a building at NIH that turns out to be a converted convent. In addition to being interestingly landscaped, inside there’s signs over most every door naming a saint and a quality of some kind, stuff like “St John the Evangelist/Fidelity of Love” and “St Barbara/Simplicity” and “Procruatrix’s Office/St. Augustine/Gentle Charity.” What a find! Too tired last night to ul any of them, and I don’t think any are good enough yet anyway…I’ll be back there for sure, maybe with my tripod.

On a weekend though, because when I take pictures around NIH I’m totally That Girl. Nobody I know has seen me, yet, but it’s only a matter of time before I look up from crouching on the floor in a basement taking a b&w of an interesting pipe to see my PI staring at me. Night is a little easier, but usually the last thing I want to do when I leave work is hang around this place; it’s an interesting struggle between that and some of the really dramatically lit buildings’ siren calls. I’m looking forward to the next few months, when golden hour will push back into my commute home, and I can take more stuff without it being an elaborate time-delay long-exposure ordeal.

Went out with flickr people last night and it was fun to be able to TALK about being That Girl, while doing That Girl things like propping your camera up on glassware and napkins, and having it not actually MAKE you That Girl since they were doing it too, in fact advising you on sneak technique even while your autofocus beam was all up in their faces.

Leave a Reply

