bummed

1 March, 2006

I don’t think I can swing being on this baseball team. I enjoy it, but I do NOT enjoy the hour of transit each way that it can take to get to and from practices/the batting cages. And once games start it’s going to be the same problem, they won’t be any closer in, if anything they’ll be farther. (I missed a practice on Sunday, and will miss a few nights this week too because the effort it’d take to make it to those things would/would have taken over my day.)

Two things I hate: having to spend time in the suburbs, and being stuck in a car when I don’t choose to be. Baseball combines both those things right now for not a whole lot of positive (it’s positive enough, but not earth-shatteringly awesome; the people I’ve met are not the types to become close friends, and it’s not quite enough to count as exercise).

Still, this really bums me out. I had to back out of a softball league in Chicago a few years ago and it didn’t feel very good either. It reminds me that I’m not the most dependable person, which is a suck thing to have thrown in your face–by your own actions, no less.

3 Responses to “bummed”

  1. Lark Says:

    “this doesn’t fit into my life in a way that is plausible” does NOT make you undependable. Not showing up again without another word about it would. Since you’re not going to do that, don’t worry about it. It’s a lesson learned, they’ll understand.

  2. Momb Says:

    If you reach for something and find out it was too ambitious– for whatever reason–you’ve learned someting about yourself, but it isn’t that you’re not dependable. Rather, it’s that your adventurous enough to try things out. The only thing you have to learn here is that sometimes in life you can’t do each and every thing you’d like to do. Life will be easier when you learn to accept this and move on, but you can’t learn it if you don’t go for it first. This is who you are, the who we love. Make your apologies, mourn your loss and move on to your next adventure. I so love that both you and Lark do this; it really doesn’t matter if it doesn’t work out, it matters that you tried.

    OK…I’m going to China now…

  3. techne Says:

    No more adventures for a while. Please….


Leave a Reply

