holy crap

10 March, 2006

This has nothing to do with anything, but I just have to share. It’s too cool.

I have this dress. I’ve had it since 1993 or so, when I did the vintage-dress-with-combat-boots look, but this one was always too nice for that, too evening. It’s dark green (matches my eyes something fierce), velvet, bias-cut 1920s style and it fit me for about 10 minutes, back in 1993 or whenever. Then I went to college and met the Freshman 20…or maybe 25…and it was over between us. Still. I’ve been carrying it around, all this time, dorm room to dorm room, midwest to east coast to midwest back to east coast…. Every time I move, when time comes to cull all that back-of-the-closet stuff you never wear, it always makes the cut. ’cause You Never Know, right? (Please tell me other people do this…)

Well. Not only, NOT ONLY does it FIT me again, but it fits me so well that I can tell just how badly it is cut. There’s fabric lumps everywhere. I’m sort of disappointed that it’s actually kind of a crappy dress. But mostly I’m just blowing my own mind here that at age 29.5 (half-birthday this week!) I am fitting into clothes I wore when I was 16.

I would not recommend my weight loss method (the heartbreak diet), but, wow. I could so write a book.

UPDATE: the cheongsam. The cheongsam I wore when I crashed my senior year prom with my ex-girlfriend. It’s maroon and beautiful and it fits me again. Un-fricking-believable.

One Response to “holy crap”

  1. Momb Says:

    This was always my dream. Until we moved I still had my RED DRESS. I’m happy you’re living it, and you still look healthy, so, be happy!


Leave a Reply

