poll

25 May, 2006

The bachelorette party was planned with the help of bachelorette.com. Among other things, a penis pinata was ordered. Which we filled with Blow Pops, and took compromising photos of each other with. You know. The usual.preparations, bachelorette party

(I've actually had experience with this exact pinata brand. At Chicago friend L's bachelorette party, the plastic loopy Prince Albert bit broke off with the first whack. I imagine QC at the penis pinata factory takes a backseat to things like appropriately trimming the balls. Luckily I remembered how to tie a noose, which saved the day, and due to the circumcised nature of the pinata it could even point up.)

Now — careful examination of the photos in the previous post will reveal to you that newlyweds Leah and Brett are an interracial couple. Would you believe that it took us the whole party to realize that we'd bought a CAUCASIAN penis pinata?

KS, bachelorette party

"Oh dear! We beseech you, forgive us!"


The order placer even remembered seeing the black penis pinatas on the website and thinking "how cool is that" about the existence of them.

So, the poll question. Was this an instance of racism, or of colorblindness? (I do not single out the order placer for culpability bec ause it took so long for the rest of us to notice.)

bachelorette party

"There, there. We'll just use you as decoration, not beat you with a stick."

(Yeah, we skipped the actual pinata part. As one 'maid said, we like to think it's because we have a healthier relationship with the male genitalia than that.)

5 Responses to “poll”

  1. Dr. Birdcage Says:

    I must admit that the first thing I thought when I saw the photos was “wowza, that’s a pink penis. Isn’t her husband black?” But then I thought maybe I hadn’t identified the right person in the previous pictures as the groom. But I think this has more to do with the realities of my new job than anything else.

  2. techne Says:

    Yeah, I think it’s a gray area between racism per se and a simple lack of exposure. Our world isn’t such that one can spend one’s days surrounded by representatives of every sort of group encounterable, and what we notice is shaped by our experience. Support for this interpretation: the celebrant who eventually noticed was the only other one currently dating a black man.

    So how did you handle that introduction, anyway? 🙂 When do you leave, do you have time for a bite before?

  3. Dr. Birdcage Says:

    I just kinda let it pass on by, though it did briefly occur to me that I could point out that socio-economically developers are no more my people than anyone else in that room. But it wasn’t the proper forum for that debate. It was the first time that I’d ever really had to contemplate the idea of my actually having peoples in the way she meant– rather than in the looser, more ironic my-flickr-peoples kind of way. I don’t know who my people would be, though I know for a fact that the people she was identifying as mine ain’t they.

    I’m on a plane tomorrow afternoon. I’d say tonight, but I have an evening meeting until 8, and I have to deal with the laundry that I just remembered I left in the washer, pack, and hit the gym before I pumpkin. I got that same evening meeting next Thurs (the 1st), but could chow after– you free?

  4. furcafe Says:

    What I want to know is whether there was any whoo girl behavior that night.

  5. techne Says:

    woo girling was planned, but did not take place. I even had heels on. They were wedges, but still.


Leave a Reply

