sunday on the internets with techne

10 July, 2006

Damn, this article is depressing. Am I too old? Don’t these people have jobs? Who has this much time for their persona? This week I sent a bunch of links to some new older-than-me friends. They felt web-timidated by it, which is about how I feel about this person’s life.

I’ve been sorta trying to get to the Palace of Wonders bar on the H St NE corridor that all the kids are on about, but I note that Maureen Dowd mentioned it today, right after its grand opening(s) on Friday and Saturday. Did it jump the shark already? Is there any way for a place in DC to ramp up slowly or are we just too echo-chamber-y up in here?

Instead of that last night, Reaganite and I went to dinner at Zengo (which is not a fast-food place like I thought when walking by not paying attention). I had fun  being That Girl, and encouraging the kitchen staff to start fires for me:

zengo

And then we took in some naked ladies over at Warehouse:

Bloody Belle 1

(This counts as “sunday on the internets” cause for the first time in a while, I processed a day’s photos the very next day.)

Happy Monday.

5 Responses to “sunday on the internets with techne”

  1. Alex Says:

    Holy cow, that New York Times article you linked made my head spin. But my overwhelming emotion was to feel sorry for that person and to think that she sounds like a dreadful bore. Since the early days of the net it’s been my observation that the people who come across as most tuned in and connected online are often the ones who are most ill at ease in real life, and I don’t think that’s changed much.

  2. jamy Says:

    Soliciting testimonials? Tacky.

    Palace of Wonders is quite near where I live (I’m just north of H ST) and I have another friend who wants to go. Shall we make a trip there soon?

  3. Dr. Birdcage Says:

    The Times article is making me a little… queasy. “Just imagine if we could be this good in person. Online, everyone has bulletproof social armor.” This good? I’m not understanding the definition of good here. If only we could be this self-obsessed in real life? If only we could value ourselves by how many business cards there are in our roledexes or how full our little black books are in real life? I’m not sure why she would want to be that pathetic in person.

    And when are going to the Palace of Wonders? Cat circus! Just don’t say this weekend, as I think I need to head for Jersey for the long dreaded weekend of detritus sorting in anticipation of my parents’ move back to Mass. Though if I do it this weekend that means I won’t have to do it the following weekend… which means I can have that party before you desert our fair city for family reunions and such things. So when’s the cat circus?

  4. Dr. Birdcage Says:

    The Times article is making me a little… queasy. “Just imagine if we could be this good in person. Online, everyone has bulletproof social armor.” This good? I’m not understanding the definition of good here. If only we could be this self-obsessed in real life? If only we could value ourselves by how many business cards there are in our roledexes or how full our little black books are in real life? I’m not sure why she would want to be that pathetic in person.

    And when are going to the Palace of Wonders? Cat circus! Just don’t say this weekend, as I think I need to head for Jersey for the long dreaded weekend of detritus sorting in anticipation of my parents’ move back to Mass. Though if I do it this weekend that means I won’t have to do it the following weekend… which means I can have that party before you desert our fair city for family reunions and such things. So when’s the cat circus?


  5. […] Last week I posted this, and Jamy replied, so we organized an outing, which also involved flickrites, and at one point I had my camera out and it started a conversation and we met inked. Later, I posted this and Jamy posted this and her friend K posted this, and today inked got tipped off and posted this and my hit count was my second highest ever. I’m surprised we all found time to meet face to face in all that. And we photogs haven’t even posted our shots yet! Maybe I should start a feature about DC blogergy. Any submissions? […]


Leave a Reply

