LASIK notes

8 April, 2007

Immediately afterwards, the difference was apparent. Instead of focus dropping off over distance, the blur was the same throughout the range, like I was looking through Vaseline’d lenses. Direct light glows like a chintzy wedding portrait artist’s filter. The effect diminishes every day. Despite night vision complaints being the most common at this point in recovery, I haven’t noticed much difference. I always saw a lot of glare at night, especially when inside a car. I suppose there is more, but irritating is irritating, y’know?

The morning after I was 20/20 at least, in fact I’d say they were 20/20 the first night. I wasn’t tested any higher, although to be honest I am hoping for overcorrection and super-vision. The painful bits of the experience were only the stinging as the anesthetic drops wore off post-surgery. That’s where the Valium really helped, in getting me to sleep when I got home. When I got up things were fine.

Note my eye hickey, from the machine that immobilized my eye to make the flap:
LASIK eye hickey

OK, you all think that’s the height of gross, but at least it’s not a decapitated rat’s head. You should thank me, Dr. Scientist, for small favors. Like not showing you both eyes.

It feels a bit anticlimactic, to be honest. I feel absolutely no different, except every 2 hours I have to put eye drops in. It’s like wearing contacts. I imagine the differences will accumulate as I get used to the lack of the contacts-specific drawbacks. For example, I’ve never liked naps much, because taking them in contacts means you wake up with your eyes all natty gross, and even wearing glasses the last few years, my habit against naps is sorta engrained. It’s a lot easier now!

I wake up at night and read the clock to my boyfriend. Because I can. I’m really looking forward to the week point when I’m out of the danger zone of sweating into my eyes and can go to yoga and be able to see the instructor.

And that’s my LASIK report, submitted on post-surgery Day 3.

3 Responses to “LASIK notes”

  1. Kate Says:

    That’s SO cool! Hope your recovery goes well and SUPER VISION finds its way to you!


  2. Wow. That’s gross. But in an uplifting kind of way. Jus’ sayin’

  3. Lasik Says:

    Do you know the difference between Lasik, Lasek, PRK? If not, you should read the information on this website. It can help you to discuss with your eye doctor about which type of laser eye surgery may be best for you.


Leave a Reply

