give humans a break

17 April, 2007

I of course agree with this sentiment about the recent events in Virginia. (If you are too lazy to click on the link, the sentiment is: this is nothing compared to what’s happening in Iraq.) On the other hand, I think it is a bit harsh to judge the coverage in this way. Virginia is closer then Iraq. Americans are more likely to know the dead people there than those in Iraq. Is this a sin? Humans were ever so. We pioritize what and how we care about things based on their proximity to us and our interests.

(Ioz has more understanding of human nature than most bloggers, so I don’t mean to pick on him, his was just the first expression of the idea that I saw.)

On a lighter note, here is an image sent my way from Reaganite.

3 Responses to “give humans a break”

  1. Chaf Says:

    Gotta tell you, I’m with IOZ – although I think you’re absolutely correct that that’s an intellectual rather than emotional reaction. FWIW, some other website called “Wonkette” made a similar observation: http://www.wonkette.com/politics/surge/160-killed-in-terrible-massacre-253347.php

    Oh, and this “Reaganite” character is my new hero. Nicely done. 🙂

  2. techne Says:

    Well, here’s the thing. Yesterday I read Ioz’s point and agreed with it. Then someone I can’t remember linked to a guy who blamed the media for the focus which made me say hey, wait a minute, that’s a bit ignorant of human nature a thing to say. Then I posted and linked to Ioz cause he was first…but they really are different arguments and I shoulda linked to the other guy. Wonkette is making Ioz’s point, not that other guy’s, so that’s all fine.

  3. b Says:

    uh…isn’t the magnet holding the disk up going to have the possibility of damaging it?


Leave a Reply

